Decrease (-) Restore Default Increase (+)


Division Chief: Marc Adler, MD

Resident Elective

The Hospitalists serve on several committees and are integrally involved in student and housestaff education. In addition to ward activities dedicated to housestaff education, a hospitalist residency elective incorporating inpatient issues with medical economics, liability issues, and hospitalist management concepts is offered to residents interested in concentrating on inpatient issues or a hospitalist career

Clinical Services

Since its inception in 1996, the hospitalist program has evolved into a fully-integrated academic division of the Department of Medicine. Composed of four faculty physicians Board-certified in Internal Medicine, the division provides full-time inpatient medical care for patients referred by over 50 primary care and specialty physicians in the community. The group also directs the care of patients whose physicians are not on staff and for patients who require inpatient medical consultation.

As graduates of the Internal Medicine Residency program at NYU Winthrop, our emphasis is on coordinating quality inpatient care with appropriate resource utilization and risk management in an exceptional educational setting


Angela Buonvino, DO

Angela Buonvino, DO completed her residency in Internal Medicine at NYU Winthrop Hospital. A graduate of the New York College of Osteopathic Medicine, she practiced outpatient medicine for several years prior to joining the inpatient faculty. Board-certified in Internal Medicine, Dr. Buonvino is an active Instructor of Medicine at the New York College of Osteopathic Medicine. She is a member of the Society of Hospital Medicine and American College of Physicians.

Erica Ferrara, DO

Erica Ferrara, DO is a graduate of the Internal Medicine Residency Program at NYU Winthrop Hospital and received her Doctorate from the New York College of Osteopathic Medicine. Board-certified in Internal Medicine, she has been an integral member of the hospitalist team since its infancy, dedicated to inpatient care and medical education. A peer-reviewer for the Morbidity and Mortality Committee, she is also a member of the Society of Hospital Medicine and the American College of Physicians.